Article 4 and HMO compensation · Tracker
Immediate Article 4 Directions on small HMOs
Councils in England that have removed the right to convert a house to a small HMO with less than 12 months' notice since the start of 2025. Where that happens, compensation may be possible, but only if a planning application goes in within 12 months of the Direction taking effect. On today's date, 12 of these windows are still open.
| Council | Area | Type | In force | Confirmed | Application window ends* |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bolton | Whole borough | Immediate | 13 Jun 2025 | Yes, 15 Nov 2025 | 12 Jun 2026 (closed) |
| Sefton (Aintree) | Aintree area | Immediate | 2 Jul 2025 | Yes, 4 Dec 2025 | 1 Jul 2026 (closed) |
| Fenland (central Wisbech) | Wisbech Riverside and Wisbech South wards | Immediate | Not stated by the council | Yes, August 2025 | To be confirmed |
| Rossendale | Whole borough | Immediate | 19 Sep 2025 | Yes, 18 Mar 2026 | 18 Sept 2026 (closed) |
| Chorley | Whole borough | Immediate | 24 Sep 2025 | Yes, March 2026 | 23 Sept 2026 (closed) |
| Halton | Parts of 11 wards | Immediate | 24 Sep 2025 | Yes, 12 Feb 2026 | 23 Sept 2026 (closed) |
| Sefton (rest of borough) | Rest of the borough | Immediate | 15 Oct 2025 | Yes, 5 Feb 2026 | 14 Oct 2026 (closed) |
| South Tyneside | Whole borough except Lawe Top | Immediate | 3 Dec 2025 (council's statutory notice) | Yes, 11 Mar 2026 | 2 Dec 2026 (open) |
| Dartford | North of the A2 | Immediate | 8 Dec 2025 | Yes, 23 Feb 2026 | 7 Dec 2026 (open) |
| Hillingdon | Whole borough | Immediate | 11 Dec 2025 | Yes, 21 May 2026 | 10 Dec 2026 (open) |
| Oldham | Whole borough | Short notice (about 3 months) | 1 Jan 2026 | Yes, 15 Dec 2025 | 31 Dec 2026 (open) |
| Medway | Seven wards in Chatham, Gillingham, Luton, Strood and Watling | Immediate | 22 Jan 2026 | Not verified. If not confirmed in time it has lapsed | 21 Jan 2027 (open) |
| Wyre | Parts of Fleetwood and Thornton-Cleveleys | Immediate | 25 Feb 2026 | Yes, 2 Jul 2026 | 24 Feb 2027 (open) |
| South Ribble | Whole borough | Immediate | 6 Mar 2026 | Yes, 16 Jul 2026 | 5 Mar 2027 (open) |
| Merton | 13 wards | Immediate | 24 Mar 2026 | Not verified. If not confirmed in time it has lapsed | 23 Mar 2027 (open) |
| Hinckley & Bosworth (Hinckley) | Streets in and around Hinckley town centre | Short notice | 1 May 2026 | Date not found | 30 Apr 2027 (open) |
| Hyndburn | Altham, Baxenden, Huncoat, Immanuel, Milnshaw, Overton and St Oswalds wards | Immediate | Not stated by the council (made 15 May 2026) | Pending | To be confirmed |
| Harrow | Whole borough | Immediate | 12 Jun 2026 | Yes, 24 Sep 2026 | 11 Jun 2027 (open) |
| Bury | Whole borough | Immediate | 16 Jul 2026 | Pending (must be confirmed by 15 Jan 2027) | 15 Jul 2027 (open) |
| Swale | Whole borough | Immediate | Not stated by the council (made 21 Jul 2026) | Pending | To be confirmed |
| Ribble Valley | Whole borough | Immediate | 28 Aug 2026 | Pending (lapses 26 Feb 2027 unless confirmed) | 27 Aug 2027 (open) |
* Our calculation, not a date the council published: the day before the first anniversary of the in-force date, because the application must be made within "the period of 12 months beginning with the date on which the directions took effect" (section 108(2A), Town and Country Planning Act 1990). "To be confirmed" means the council has not stated the in-force date.
"Short notice" means a non-immediate Direction that gave less than 12 months' notice, so the compensation route can still apply. An immediate Direction lapses after six months unless the council confirms it (Town and Country Planning (General Permitted Development) (England) Order 2015, Schedule 3, paragraph 2(6)).
This list is not exhaustive. Each council name links to the council page we relied on. Last checked 23 Oct 2026. Always check the Direction, its map and its dates with the council for your own property.
